Using Prognostic AI Models in Pathology: Case Colorectal Cancer | June 13

Using Prognostic AI Models in Pathology: Case Colorectal Cancer

Date: 13 June 2024

Time: 11am EDT / 9am MDT / 4pm BST / 5pm CEST / 6pm EEST

Length: 60 minutes

Summary

Discover an informative webinar on how artificial intelligence (AI) can aid oncologists and pathologists working in the gastrointestinal field.

In this webinar, the speakers will focus on an AI model that identifies important histological features of colorectal cancer (CRC) and provides a recurrence prediction estimate that can be useful for making treatment decisions.

There is tremendous morphologic heterogeneity in colorectal carcinoma, which can be helpful for predicting prognosis, underlying molecular alterations and determining the response to specific therapies. QuantCRC, a deep learning segmentation algorithm, harnesses quantitative data from digitized hematoxylin and eosin (H&E)-stained slides to improve the prediction of tumor recurrence using the Aiforia® Platform.

The AI model identifies clinically relevant prognostic risk groups, providing a powerful adjunct to routine pathologic reporting of CRC.

By attending this webinar, the attendees will gain insights into:

  • Current state of CRC pathology and pathologic features that guide oncologic decision-making
  • How an AI-integrated risk scheme using available, inexpensive (H&E)-stained slides can improve risk assessment for cancer patients

Register for this webinar today to learn about the exciting case of AI in pathology and how prognostic AI models are revolutionizing the future of pathology image analysis.

Who Should Attend?

This webinar will appeal to:

  • Pathologists
  • Oncologists
  • Cancer researchers
  • Everyone interested in colorectal cancer and the use of AI models

What You Will Learn

Attendees will learn about:

  • The current state of CRC pathology and pathologic features that guide oncologic decision-making
  • How quantitative digital pathology using a digital pathology biomarker can improve risk stratification to help guide treatment and follow-up

Presenters

Dr. Rish K. Pai

MD, PhD, Pathologist

Mayo Clinic

Dr. Rish K. Pai earned his MD, PhD from Case Western University School of Medicine in Cleveland, OH. He completed his residency in Anatomic Pathology at the University of Chicago Medical Center, followed by a Gastrointestinal and Hepatic Pathology fellowship at the same institution. Dr. Pai is currently Professor of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology and serves as Director of the GI/Liver service and GI/Liver fellowship at the Mayo Clinic Arizona.

Dr. Pai has published over 200 articles and written multiple book chapters in the fields of gastrointestinal and hepatic pathology, with a particular focus on colorectal cancer. Dr. Pai has lectured nationally and internationally on many aspects of gastrointestinal and hepatic pathology and was President of the Rodger C. Haggitt Gastrointestinal Pathology Society in 2020.

Thomas Westerling-Bui

PhD, Chief Commercial Officer

Aiforia Inc.

Thomas Westerling-Bui is the CCO, Americas at Aiforia. He received his PhD in Cancer Biology — focusing on cell cycle and transcription — from the University of Helsinki Medical School in Finland. Thomas then completed a post-doctoral EMBO fellowship at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, researching the genomics of breast and prostate cancer.

Share This Post